The Wicked Day

The Wicked Day Mary Stewart


The Wicked Day (The Arthurian Saga #4)

THE WICKED DAY (The Arthurian Saga -- Book 04) / (first published 1981) '-' Mordred's story... a provocative recast legend. Mary Stewart is as skilled as ever in weaving Myth and History into a single thread of credible fiction -- Born of an incestuous relationship between King Arthur and his half sister, the evil sorceress Morgause, the bastard Mordred is reared in secrecy. Called to Camelot by events he cannot deny, Mordred becomes Arthur’s most trusted counselor -- a fateful act that leads to the "wicked day of destiny" when father and son must face each other in battle.

“The wicked day of destiny,” as Sir Thomas Malory calls it, is the day when Arthur’s final battle was fought at Camlann. In this battle, we are told, “Arthur and Medraut fell.” He, Mordred, was not the instrument of a blind and brutal fate, but of whatever, whoever, made the pattern to which the world moved.

Now, the spellbinding, final chapter of King Arthur's reign, where Mordred, sired by incest and reared in secrecy, ingratiates himself at court, and sets in motion the Fates and the end of Arthur....
Mary Stewart's Arthurian Saga:
The Crystal Cave (1970)
The Hollow Hills (1973)
The Last Enchantment (1979)
The Wicked Day (1983)
The Prince and the Pilgrim (1995)
If you haven't read Mary Stewart's Arthurian Saga, you don't know what you're missing. They are must reads for any romance reader, for any lover of Arthurian legend, for any history buff, for any voracious reader, and may be the books to get non-readers started. Basically, they should be read by everyone! Mary Stewart's research is phenomenal. Her understanding of myth and its relationship to fact is remarkable. The books are complex, yet incredibly inviting and you will absolutely love the characters. They also weave together so beautifully that you won't be able to read only one. Two things I find particularly interesting in this series is the portrayal of Arthur and the fall of Camelot. Arthur represents all of humanity in these books as opposed to the more mythical figure you usually see. And the fall of Camelot is more internal rather than external--more about the passions and lusts in the heart rather than a more obvious loss of power. The books go in this order: The Crystal Cave, The Hollow Hills, The Last Enchantment, The Wicked Day. --Shauna Summers, Senior Editor

[About the Author]: Mary Stewart, 1916-2014, is one of the most widely read fiction writers of our time. The author of twenty novels, a volume of poetry, and three books for young readers, she is admired for both her contemporary stories of romantic suspense and her historical novels. Born in England, she has lived for many years in Scotland, spending time between Edinburgh and the West Highlands.

Aventura / Fantasia / Ficção / História / Literatura Estrangeira / Romance / Suspense e Mistério

Edições (1)

ver mais
The Wicked Day


(13) ver mais
The Crystal Cave
The Merlin Trilogy
o retorno de merlin
O Último Encantamento


Informações não disponíveis
Avaliações 4.0 / 1
ranking 0
ranking 100
ranking 0
ranking 0
ranking 0



cadastrou em:
07/09/2016 20:29:59
editou em:
08/09/2016 22:10:29