São Bernardo

São Bernardo Graciliano Ramos


Compartilhe


São Bernardo (NYRB Classics)





In 1941, a national literary poll in Brazil named Graciliano Ramos one of the country’s ten greatest novelists—one of only four living authors on the list. His reputation has only increased there in the sixty years since his death. Brazilian readers fight over which of his novels is their favorite. Now São Bernardo, his second-to-last novel, has been freshly translated for North American readers. This gritty, dryly funny book tells the story of Paulo Honório, a field hand who learns to read and write in jail, emerging with the ambition of buying and restoring to greatness the now-decrepit property where he was once a day laborer. São Bernardo, named for his ranch, is the memoir of his rise and fall, written in his own rough-hewn voice. Flavored with subtle ironies and rich local idioms, São Bernardo will appeal to readers of William Faulkner and Juan Rulfo, anyone who loves a tragicomic story of a striving outsider and self-made man, ruthless and tender in turns.

Ficção / Literatura Brasileira / Romance / Drama

Edições (29)

ver mais
S. Bernardo
São Bernardo
São Bernardo
S. Bernardo

Similares

(26) ver mais
Angústia
Marta
Santa Fé
Alexandre e Outros Heróis

Resenhas para São Bernardo (168)

ver mais
on 7/8/11


Grande parte dos alunos das escolas brasileiras não gostam de ler e não sentem nenhuma atração pelos livros. Na verdade não grande parte, mas a maioria. E por que isso ocorre? A resposta está nos livros nacionais que os professores os obrigam a ler. O que era pra ser um estímulo à leitura, acaba se tornando um empecilho para os jovens. Felizmente consegui perder meu preconceito por livros brasileiros há algum tempo atrás, após ler livros nacionais que acabei gostando bastante. Com São... leia mais

Vídeos São Bernardo (2)

ver mais
São Bernardo - Graciliano Ramos | LEITURA UFRGS 2021

São Bernardo - Graciliano Ramos | LEITURA UFR

São Bernardo (Graciliano Ramos)

São Bernardo (Graciliano Ramos)


Estatísticas

Desejam492
Trocam165
Avaliações 3.9 / 7.062
5
ranking 33
33%
4
ranking 33
33%
3
ranking 25
25%
2
ranking 7
7%
1
ranking 2
2%

34%

66%

Helena
cadastrou em:
20/07/2019 19:25:27